Customer Reviews

Century Bob XL (With 8173 Base)

Back to item
Items 1 - 20 of 42 reviews
 1  2  3  [Next] 
By maria
Date Added: Sunday 25 December, 2011
The base part of the item is missing:( I need my order fixed ASAP!I purchased for my husband for Xmas and when he opened the box only the top part was in the box and not the base. Very embarressing. Please do something abou it!
Rating: [1 of 5 Stars!]
By Tom
Date Added: Wednesday 02 November, 2011
Purchased Bob about a year ago after tearing up my former training partner, slam man. Bob loves nothing more than a good ole beating, I tell people he feels neglected if you don't at least unleash a combo or two on him before you pass by. In all seriousness though, I couldn't be more happy with this purchase. So far, so good as far as durability. While my slam man ripped and tore over time, Bob has help up quite nicely. Some scuffs sure, but nothing major. I've had some sort of punching bag around since I was a kid, but nothing compares to Bob for my usage, its just more fun striking something that resembles a person. It's great to practice your striking and work in some cardio or just unleash a little frustration from time to time.
Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]
By Ironhouse
Date Added: Wednesday 19 October, 2011
Lets get this out of the way, Bob is an extension of the action figures I had as a kid. I didn't realize it at first, but after using the Bob a few times I was amazed at how much more I enjoyed hitting him than a traditional punching bag (which I've had for years and barely used). I'm not a pro fighter, and don't ever plan on being in a fight, I'm an MMA fan, and more than that, a guy that likes to work out, and more than that, a guy that loved his action figures. For whatever subconscious reason I love working out with Bob, and beating the hell out of him, and I'm pretty sure it has something to do with him being a giant version of a G.I.Joe. Now to the Review.The Good:Realistic feel and appearance enhances the overall experience and helps with target striking. Also motivates use.Works great for MMA (punches, kicks, elbows, knees, etc) and straight Boxing, as well as ground n' pound.Adjustable height is nice (roughly 5-6.5 ft range). It helps you practice against a variety of opponent sizes. I went short to practice kicks until my flexibility improves, I went tall to practice punching a tall person (much harder than you would imagine).Easy to clean, marks from gloves, dirt, and blood wipe right off.Fits well in a small space.The Bad:Originally had the base filled with water. When striking it the water takes motion and Bob jumped around too much. I was throwing mostly light speedy strikes and the base still jumped an inch or two every few hits. When I went with power strikes I literally moved him 10 feet over 15 minutes of striking. Eventually I filled Bob with Silica Sand and saw a major improvement. He barely jumps around (although he does still a bit, but in a good realistic way as the manufacturer intended) and I'm able to throw much harder strikes. To fill the base with sand I recommend a funnel (the opening is about 2in around). When filled with Sand the base is extremely heavy so I recommend a dolly to move him. I was able to tip and roll him a short distance (a couple feet), but for longer moves a dolly would be ideal.Recommend putting him on a bad or rug so if he does bounce a bit it doesn't make noise or damage the floor.Overall I couldn't be happier. The product is motivating and works great. The only recommendation I have is re-shaping the base to reduce potential bouncing.
Rating: [4 of 5 Stars!]
By Ozzie1010
Date Added: Tuesday 04 October, 2011
This is a great product offered as at a fantastic price in excellent condition. The item was worth every penny and was in the exact condition as stated in the description.
Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]
By BGO
Date Added: Saturday 24 September, 2011
Shipping on BOB was right on time , Everything described in the product was true, Very satisfied , When I set up BOB, in my opinion I would fill with water than sand unless you don't plan moving it far (Of course unless you use a dolly). Another review on here suggested wearing gloves, Very good advice . A very good product overall !
Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]
By SR
Date Added: Friday 23 September, 2011
This thing is great. I work out and practice boxing and Martial Arts. It's good to help apply certain techniques and realistic strikes
Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]
By J. Ray
Date Added: Tuesday 02 August, 2011
My biggest misgiving when selecting this product, other than the price, was whether or not it would hold up under heavy training and whether or not the base would be sufficient to keep it upright. The biggest problem I have had with bags over the last 15 years is that they don't hold up. The chains break, the bags rupture, the bases don't hold it down. I have broken every bag I've ever owned and a few that weren't mine. So when I went to purchase the first bag I've owned in 5 years I decided I would put price consideration aside and get something that would hold up to regular use. I'm a big man and I have a heavy right hand. I weigh 290lbs and I hit hard. That being said I don't knock this thing over. With 250lb of sand in the base a solid body shot puts it back to about a 45 degree angle and it snaps back solid every time. This is something I could not say for any other free standing bag I've ever used. The base will walk back and to the side with series of blows but I don't see that as a bad thing as it forces me to walk up with it a bit.The mannequin is solid and perfect for indoor use or outdoor under a roof, I don't think I would leave it out without a shelter over it though. The large body is perfect for targeted training and practicing on weak points. After a month and a half I decided to see if it held up to Kendo targeting with a solid oak bokuto and a couple weeks later it shows no sign of wear.I recommend this wholeheartedly for any big guys out there that have been disappointed with free standing bags. It is well worth the extra cash.
Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]
By Lagenorhincus
Date Added: Thursday 28 July, 2011
Excellent anti-stress/frustration partner :opUsed a plastic bottle to fill the base (cut both extremities), and it took only 115kg of play sand,which is more expensive but usually very dry (easier to get out if needed).The base is a bit slippery even when filled but a simple rug grip will do the trick (doesn't matter the surface).The delivery was fast and price unbeatable! Great deal for an indispensable item in today's world :o))
Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]
By scouting mom
Date Added: Wednesday 22 June, 2011
Very realistic, kids are throwing it around for WWE practice and having fun with it. Arrived in great condition, but did not include gel gloves that were supposed to be part of the package. Good addition to my workout routine, although it did freak out the dogs for several days as it is realistic looking.
Rating: [4 of 5 Stars!]
By JPP27
Date Added: Monday 06 June, 2011
Great Product, things is very durable, has full face features, so you feel like you are hitting someone real. The only down side I wish the dummy was a little heavy for a solid hit because it bounces a little bit, but I imagine thats closer to actually hitting someone. I would definately recommend, only CON was the price, but well worth something like this. My biggest issue was CEVA the delivery service they use to ship the item was aweful! Becuase they was no way of having it delivery without someone physcially being able to sign for it....no written permission no verbal confirmation, nothing...and to top it off they could only deliver in my area on tuesdays and thursday mid day, very inconvient...but after almost 2 weeks of hassle I finally recieved the trainig dummy which I really needed to blow off some extra steam. :) (p.s. I even paid for 3 day shipping.)CONCLUSION: PRODUCT GREAT...DELIVERY PROBLEMATIC
Rating: [4 of 5 Stars!]
By Gary Wells "Gallamine Gary"
Date Added: Saturday 04 June, 2011
Just like every one else...The head is too soft, you cant hit the back, the funnel is not included. As a side note it comes in two boxes make sure you get both.
Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]
By J. Prisco
Date Added: Saturday 28 May, 2011
I just received my XL BOB a few weeks ago. I am not disappointed at all. It is a great stress reliever in addition to a great workout. I have no complaints but I do wonder why the "fill" hole was not located at the top of the portion that Bob slips onto instead of the base. I think it would've been a lot easier to fill had it been constructed that way. That aside...it's a great heavy bag. Definitely worth purchasing if you are considering it.
Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]
By S. Foglesong
Date Added: Saturday 26 March, 2011
Six foot, 250lb, Ten years taekwondo, six years bouncing, and eight years as a police officer. This is just to put into perspective the person reviewing this product. No. 1, it's expensive, once you get that out of the way it's nothing but positive. I purchased the Bob xl about a month ago and held off from reviewing right away. I've used Bob extensively now and am still impressed. Arrived in two boxes and set very easily. Hardest part is getting 75lbs of sand in a three inch hole in the base. Several hours later you get to play with bob. The bob xl has more coverage than the regular bob (around the back and spine) so you can circle and work from different angles. LIttle hard punching the kidneys, (less material) but still able to work full force. I put all I had into Bob, he never toppled or ripped. On thing to remember if using gloves you could get some transfer on bob, had to scrub for a bit but it comes off. The extra padding allows for some groundfighting opptions if you chose to take bob off the base. Bob and his base are loud if you don't put him on some type of pad or carpet. Bob's nose is really hard. Non-gloved punches to the face are unforgiving on the knuckles. Bob is way more flexible than a hanging bag, so you don't get the satisfying thud of punching the heavy bag, but he is awesome for accuracy training and those that can't hang a bag in their home. Lastly, bob feels and acts like hitting a real person. His head moves when struck and his "skin" gives a little. I have really enjoyed having Bob and Highly recommend this product. I've even added arms to mine for more training options using a tight sweatshirt and a large pool noodle.
Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]
By joshua Gunn (Idaho, USA)
Date Added: Wednesday 02 March, 2011
when i looked i was under the impression that a funnel was included, sadly there was no funnel in mine. the product is perfect but should include a screw on funnel
Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]
By Victorious Secret
Date Added: Saturday 29 January, 2011
I Love my BOB XL I would recommend this purchase to anyone who dabbles in the Martial Arts or who just wants to let off a little steam and get a good workout in I used water to fill his tank, cause I was impatient and didnt feel like taking the time to pour in the sand (I heard it was a pretty tedious task) but the water works great. It's heavy enough to keep in place and stabilize him but as I have him in my living room I am able to push and pull him around where I see fit without too much trouble @ all :)
Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]
By S. Franke
Date Added: Thursday 30 December, 2010
Title says it all really, very fun to punch and kick on and for accuracy training nothing can top it, but needs tons of sand to withstand hits without falling over, if you have decent punching power like myself. I've had to put about 75 lbs more sand then manufacturer says to, I'm lucky all of that sand fit in the base, but like some others have said you can also use small rocks, pebbles along with sand to weigh it down. Do not use water, won't be heavy enough unless your a total wuss. Would have given it 5 stars if base was weighted to begin with, in other words some sort of metal instead of plastic but that would drive up costs, so I understand but also they should have made the head and face a little less soft, a bit harder and it would be perfect. Also, if your interested in buying one don't listen to the people that say BOB cannot replace a heavy bag, it most certainly can coming from someone who has used 100+ pound heavy bags for several years, I prefer the BOB hands down and haven't bothered with my heavy bags since, although part of that is due to limited space, which is another win for BOB. Its obviously realistic & helps improve accuracy compared to a heavy bag. If you got the money, and you like to punch and kick things and/or people, BUY IT. Had it for 6 months now and it is holding up perfectly so far.
Rating: [4 of 5 Stars!]
By PeteT
Date Added: Sunday 19 December, 2010
Have had Bob now for over a year and has been a durable practice opponent.Halloween he sits on the front porch dressed up as a pirate.Has been used on a regular basis 3-4 times a week and shows no sign of wear. Does tend to slide or rock, filled with water, on carpet and marmoleum.Have placed in corner with pads behind the base to stand BOB off the wall further.Recommend for anyone looking for a thigh up practice opponent.
Rating: [4 of 5 Stars!]
By J. Moore "hierophant"
Date Added: Wednesday 15 December, 2010
I have trained with the older / smaller version of BOB for years and found it to be a great training tool for martial arts. I recently purchased this XL unit for my home and I love it.First and foremost, bob is tough. While I use mine mostly empty handed, I know others who keep him outdoors and whack him with sticks and training knives. I don't think that's recommended, and he may get marked up - but he stands up to abuse.Having a realistically shaped opponent is a great tool as well. Hitting a heavy bag is fine, but with a BOB - you can practice anatomically sound striking. bob is also good for practicing full-force chokes, which would be dangerous with a live opponent. You can also practice techniques (such as chops to the neck) which are impractical for a heavy bag and unsafe on a real person.A side benefit for me, as someone who practices a self-defense oriented art, is hitting and grappling with something that looks so human (and menacing) can help with psychological conditioning as well.
Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]
By D. Ward
Date Added: Sunday 05 December, 2010
The BobXl is a great training partner for solo practice. I posted a picture of a green funnel to the images above. This funnel is large and can be found for $5 at your local Auto Zone and probably elsewhere. I purchased 250 lbs. of play sand from my local Lowes and the green funnel. I taped around the funnel and the BobXL post to keep the funnel in place and cut a diagonal opening into the bags of sand. The sand pours right in with a fast flow rate. Do not use the little filter that comes with the funnel..just leave the funnel hole wide open and it is a very easy job. If you are looking for a punching partner the BOBXL from Century is the way to go. I do wonder exactly how much sand you should use to fill the base?? I have read many places on the web that says to fill it with 270 lbs. but the manual from Century Fitness says to fill the base with 230 lbs. of sand and do not use more than 230 lbs. The entire unit weighs about 270 lbs. once it is filled. Even with 230 lbs. of sand the base will hold more but I decided not to put more than Century suggested in the manual.
Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]
By Chazhez
Date Added: Sunday 14 November, 2010
First, it is great to attack ribs, solar plex, jaw, etc when striking. It feels almost human like to strike and having a head allows for upper cuts and upward elbow shots not posible with other units. The neck is pretty strong and the chin feels good on the fist or elbow. The head and neck allows for holding for great knee strikes to the mid section and ribs. As for filling, do not use wet sand or it will take all day to fill. I used 1 bag of wet play ground sand and stopped because it was taking for ever to fill. My wife suggested I get dry tube sand from home depot. With a 1 gallon plastic water bottle with the botton cut out, I could pour the bag in 1 minute. My wife held the bottle and I poured a 60 Lb bag in 1 minute. Do the math for 240 LBS.
Rating: [5 of 5 Stars!]
Items 1 - 20 of 42 reviews
 1  2  3  [Next] 

Your Recent History